Review: Your Voice in My Head

your voice in my head

After about six months sitting on my Kobo “Unread” list, I finally opened up Emma Forrest’s Your Voice in My Head this Christmas “break” (which wasn’t really a break as I still have to go to work). I knew it was a book I should read, but sometimes knowing I should read a book makes me less inclined to do so. I don’t know why because almost inevitably once I’m finished, I’m so happy I did read it.

As I was not even halfway through Forrest’s book, I was happy that this lived up to its hype. The way she writes about her fucked up, crazy thoughts that she knows aren’t “normal”. The way she encapsulates how it feels to be sad – how terrible, terrible, terrible it is. How all-encompassing it is. And how she managed to pull through it and come out the other side – not happy but recovered. It resonated with me in a really raw and truthful, if not fucked up kinda way.

I haven’t felt sad in a while. It’s been a long time since I let my mind wander into that abyss even though I feel it always lingering on the outskirts of my mind. I won’t let myself feel like that because I know it leads to places I don’t want to go. But lately, I’ve been feeling sad again – just a touch more than usual. Perhaps it’s just seasonal affective disorder. But this book really spoke to how it felt and sometimes still feels to be there.

Your Voice in My Head is one of those books where you want to take your time reading it so you can revel in the experience. And as soon as you’re done, you’re tempted to pick it up and read it again. I finished the book around 11pm last night and I feel like I want more. I wish I read this book as soon as it came out, so I can discuss it with someone. So I can find someone who is as excited about it as I am. I want to go over certain parts and talk about it, how beautifully written it is, like she’s in my own head thinking my own thoughts. For now, I can only read year-old reviews and have these discussions internally with myself instead. And wait for the movie to come out – hopefully this year?

Overall, I highly recommend Your Voice in My Head by Emma Forrest. Please read it. And then come discuss it with me. Please.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

