Sex & the City for 2012

SATC: The Complete Series

At home sick, I spent the afternoon watching the third season of Sex & The City. It’s been a couple years since I last watched the series, although I used to love love love it a few years ago.

I used to be inspired to write by Sex & The City, identifying with Carrie and her relationship struggles (although mine were less dramatic in comparison).

Watching it now, I still love the show, even though I’m not sure how much of it is due to nostalgia. I don’t feel as annoyed by Carrie as other people on various blogs seem to. Yes, it veers toward vapid when a lot of the conversation/scenes centre around sex. Also clothes/shoes. And yes, Carrie’s conversations revolve a lot around her relationships and problems. But lest we forget, SATC was a comedy-drama and its protagonist is Carrie.

One thing that has changed about how I feel towards the show: I don’t feel inspired to write anymore by the SATC episodes. I guess because my own relationship dramas have died down. My husband and I have a pretty drama-free life together. We not only get along romantically but also we just enjoy each other’s company. Anyway, my life suddenly makes Carrie’s life unrelatable to me. I found the person I want to be with the rest of my life. And he wants to be with me. And he’s a nice man who does all the right things. I guess I found my Aiden rather than searching/pining for my Mr Big.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

